Blog Two – Skills

I spent a lot of time within the dirt bike community while I was growing up. I learned a lot of valuable lessons and skills from other members over the years. Skills that will come in very handy throughout life.

Being a part of this discourse community has taught me many skills. Along with being at the race track, I was given a great opportunity to work a customer service position within the community. Working with the public had a big impact on my communication skills. I needed to be able to engage in small talk as well as relay important information. Before I was required to talk to people everyday, I was very shy. Another important skill I learned was problem solving. Because I was selling dirt bikes (that weren’t cheap), it was always good to keep the customer happy. If there was a problem, you needed to be able to come up with a solution as quickly as possible. These skills are both very important and will come in handy for years to come. I’m currently going to school, where I need to communicate with teacher and students everyday. When I move on to my next career, I will be able to solve problems and communicate with my peers.

The discourse community of dirt bike has taught me many things. The most important are the skills I will always have. Communication is something I will have to engage in everyday and I will always be face with problems I will need to solve.

Leave a comment